Friday, July 12, 2024
Follow Us
Sri Lanka establishes diplomatic relations with Gambia

In a major move of expanding diplomatic relations in Africa, Sri Lanka government has decided to establish Diplomatic Relations with Gambia last week, Foreign Ministry announced.

An agreement was reached towards this end by Dr. Amrith Rohan Perera, Ambassador and Permanent Representative of Sri Lanka to the United Nations and. Lang Yabou, Ambassador and Permanent Representative of the Republic of The Gambia to the United Nations on 10th May 2019 in New York

The establishment of diplomatic ties between Sri Lanka and The Gambia would enhance the existing friendly relations and cooperation in the political, socio-economic and cultural fields for the mutual benefit of the two countries, Foreign Ministry said.

Sri Lanka will be establishing diplomatic relations with 15 African countries, the ministry official revealed.

Diplomatic relations will be established with the Islamic Republic of Mauritania, Republic of Malawi, Burkina Faso, Republic of Chad, Republic of Djibouti, Central African Republic, Gabonese Republic, Republic of Cameroon, Republic of Cote d’lvoire, Republic of Equatorial Guinea, Republic of Cape Verde, Republic of Sierra Leonne, Togolese Republic and the Republic of Niger.

There are 62 countries in Africa and Sri Lanka has resident missions in Egypt, Kenya, South Africa and Libya which are accredited to other countries.